Ray Benson


At a towering 6'7", the Philadelphia-born Ray Benson is considered a giant in the industry. However, it's his contributions to music history, not his height, that have made him a dominant figure on the music scene since 1970. Ray Benson is the front man and founder of the world-renowned Western swing band – Asleep at the Wheel. For forty years, Ray has been the driving force behind "The Wheel" and has overseen the release of more than 25 albums, countless tours, and has won nine GRAMMY™ Awards. 2009's CD release of Willie & The Wheel with collaborator Willie Nelson garnered another Grammy nomination for Best Americana Album.

Ray's honors include 2011 Texan of the Year, 2011 Texas Medal of the Arts Award for Multimedia, Lifetime Achievement Award from the Americana Music Association, the TEC Les Paul Award and, in 2004 the official Texas State Musician. He stars in a play he co-wrote, "A Ride with Bob: The Bob Wills Musical," to commemorate the legend's 100th birthday. A sought-after producer, he has worked with such artists as Willie Nelson, Aaron Neville, Carolyn Wonderland, Aaron Watson, and Suzy Bogguss. Additionally, Benson is the founder and former member of the Rhythm and Blues Foundation, an organization that supports aging R&B artists from the 1940s, 1950s, and 1960s that have reaped little financial benefit from their music. He is also an active advocate and board member for the Health Alliance for Austin Musicians.


  • Yellow Rose of Texas - Asleep at the Wheel
  • San Antonio Rose - Bob Wills
  • Miles and Miles of Texas - Asleep at the Wheel
  • La Grange - ZZ Top
  • Northeast Texas Women - Willis Alan Ramsey
  • All My Exes Live in Texas - George Strait
  • Texas Trilogy - Steve Fromholz
  • Texas Our Texas - Any Version
  • That's Right, You're Not From Texas - Lyle Lovett
  • You're From Texas - Any Version





Jay Boy Adams

Marcia Ball

Ray Benson

Willy Braun (Reckless Kelly)

Joe King Carrasco

Cindy Cashdollar

Gary Clark Jr.

Slaid Cleaves

Johnny Gimble

Pat Green

Joel Guzman and Sarah Fox

Sara Hickman

Eric Johnson

Ben Kweller

Jimmy LaFave

Delbert McClinton

James McMurtry

Steve Miller

Randy Rogers

Michelle Shocked

Jerry Jeff Walker

Paul Wall

Monte Warden (The Wagoneers)

Johnny Winter

Miles Zuniga (Fastball)