James McMurtry


The son of acclaimed author Larry McMurtry (Lonesome Dove, Terms of Endearment), James grew up on a steady diet of Johnny Cash and Roy Acuff records. His first album, released in 1989, was produced by John Mellencamp and marked the beginning of a series of acclaimed projects for Columbia and Sugar Hill. In 2004, McMurtry released the universally lauded Live in Aught-Three on Compadre Records.

2005's Childish Things garnered some of the highest critical praise of McMurtry's career and spent six weeks at No. 1 on the Americana Music Radio Chart in 2005 and 2006. In September 2006, Childish Thing and "We Can't Make It Here" won the Americana Music Awards for album and song of the year, respectiveley. McMurtry received more Americana Music Awards nominations for 2008's Just Us Kids. The album marked his highest Billboard 200 chart position in 19 years. The Washington Post noted McMurtry's live prowess: "Much attention is paid to James McMurtry's lyrics, and rightfully so: He creates a novel's worth of emotion and experience in four minutes of blisteringly stark couplets. What gets overlooked, however, is that he's an accomplished rock guitar player. At a sold-out Birchmere, the Austin-based artist was joined by drummer Daren Hess and bassist Ronnie Johnson in a set that demonstrated he raw power of wince inducing imager propelled by electric guitar. It was serious stuff, imparted by a singularly serious band."

"The simple fact is that James McMurtry may be the truest, fiercest songwriter of his generation..." Stephen King, Entertainment Weekly.


  • Texas Trilogy - Steve Fromholz
  • Wild Man from Borneo - Kinky Friedman
  • Too Many Memories - Stephen Bruton
  • Broken Freedom Song - Kris Kristofferson
  • It's Only Love - ZZ Top
  • Old Friends - Guy Clark
  • She's About a Mover - Doug Sahm
  • No Kinda Dancer - Robert Earl Keen
  • Black Cat Bone - Johnny Copeland and Albert Collins
  • New York, New York - Johnny Winter




Jay Boy Adams

Marcia Ball

Ray Benson

Willy Braun (Reckless Kelly)

Joe King Carrasco

Cindy Cashdollar

Gary Clark Jr.

Slaid Cleaves

Johnny Gimble

Pat Green

Joel Guzman and Sarah Fox

Sara Hickman

Eric Johnson

Ben Kweller

Jimmy LaFave

Delbert McClinton

James McMurtry

Steve Miller

Randy Rogers

Michelle Shocked

Jerry Jeff Walker

Paul Wall

Monte Warden (The Wagoneers)

Johnny Winter

Miles Zuniga (Fastball)