Sara Hickman


May 2010 - May 2011, Sara was the Official State Musician of Texas. Since 1989, Sara has been recording and touring, releasing both adult and children's music on major/indie labels to critical acclaim. In 1996, after being on major labels, Sara became an indie artist, creating cds on her independent label SLEEVELESS, where she oversees marketing, distribution, licensing and produces each cd. She co-owns Stingray, a design company that creates cd packaging, posters and book jacket designs.

From the sales of NEWBORN, Sara donated over $50,000. In 2007, Sara founded SUPER PAL UNIVERSE, a teen band that created "pop driven activism", helping kids learn about the environment and community service through music. In 2010, she created Family Time Rocks!, which is a family themed band that believes "Families who create together do GREAT together!" Sara has appeared twice on NBC’s “Tonight Show” and has hosted her own VH-1 special, produced a video (winning first place in the USA Film Festival), been National Ambassador for Half Price Books, written and sang on national commercials (Daisy Sour Cream, Southwest Airlines, Popeyes, Coke, etc.) and raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for charities.

She's performed internationally, from festivals, to theatres, Carnegie Hall to house concerts.

She has two daughters, a husband, a dog and a 197 in bowling.


  • Moving Work of Art - Rodney Crowell
  • I Spent My Last $10 On Birth Control and Beer - Two Nice Girls
  • Bad Girls Upset by the Truth (Entire album: Spoken Word & Songs) - Jo Carol Pierce
  • Amnesty - Twang Twang Shock a Boo
  • Sister and Sam - Betty Soo
  • Brandy in the Summertime - Emily Elbert
  • In the Midst of It All - Yolanda Adams
  • A Night on Earth - Brave Combo
  • Texas Morning - B. J. Stevenson
  • Vacation In Tehran - The Judys



Jay Boy Adams

Marcia Ball

Ray Benson

Willy Braun (Reckless Kelly)

Joe King Carrasco

Cindy Cashdollar

Gary Clark Jr.

Slaid Cleaves

Johnny Gimble

Pat Green

Joel Guzman and Sarah Fox

Sara Hickman

Eric Johnson

Ben Kweller

Jimmy LaFave

Delbert McClinton

James McMurtry

Steve Miller

Randy Rogers

Michelle Shocked

Jerry Jeff Walker

Paul Wall

Monte Warden (The Wagoneers)

Johnny Winter

Miles Zuniga (Fastball)